Executive Management

Each branch of the Sarasota Family YMCA is governed by a board of management which is comprised of approximately 15 - 25 community members who are dedicated to the advancement of the YMCA's mission to build strong kids, strong families, strong communities. A Metropolitan Board of Directors oversees the operations and strategic planning of the entire corporation. This board is comprised of chairpersons from the branch boards of management and community leaders.


The YMCA is grateful to these individuals who donate their time to our success and well-being and who go beyond their duties by volunteering for many special events and projects.


The names of the members of our current Metropolitan Board of Directors and boards of management are listed below.


Sarasota Family YMCA Metro Board of Directors 2014/2015

Fred Jacobs, Chairman

Rod Hershberger, Vice Chair

LaRue Merrill, Secretary

James Sartori, Treasurer & Finance Committee Chair

Louis Robison, Foster Care/Youth & Family Services Chair

Ed Landis, Audit Committee Chair

Lynn Bonnett, Wellness & After School Committee Chair

Fred Jacobs, Governance Committee Chair

John Ross, Member-at-Large

Clay Cobb

Thomas Coleman

Dan Dannheisser

Gail Fagan

Timothy Fannin

John Hogan

Dr. Si McAninch

Vic Scully

Candy Swick


In addition to our Metropolitan Board, each fitness branch has its own advisory board.


Babe Weiller Branch Board Frank G. Berlin, Sr. Branch Board
Tim Fannin, Chair Gail Fagan, Chair
Brad Broeder Mike Angers
John Caragiulo Steve Callahan
Kathleen Collins Sheryl Cruz
Dan Dannheisser Mark Kapusta
Thomas Monaghan Jeff Maultsby
Laura Potter George Myers
Vic Scully Jim Petrella
  James Sartori


Jeff Stern
  Bradley S. Tremitiere
  Karen Varone
  David Vernon
  Bob Windom



Evalyn Sadlier Jones Branch Board Hardee County Branch Board
Dr. Si McAninch, Chair Clay Cobb, Chair
Phil Arsenault Krystin Chapman
Rob Butcher Nancy Craft
Karen Crete Daniel Graham
Rita Ferrandino Doug Jensen
Brenda Firlie Travis McClenithan
Jane Goodwin Keith Nadaskay
Lisa Iltis Jessica Newman
Bob Katz Daniel Patterson
Gordon Lear Steven Southwell
Rick Noyes  
Tara Owen  
Candy Swick